Inside NigeriaPolitics

Adamawa APC crisis: SGF, Ribadu others hold reconciliatory meeting in Yola

By Ibrahim Abdul’ Aziz

Disturbed by the lingering crisis that caused the defeat of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Adamawa State, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, pioneer chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, and other stakeholders, met in Yola, to reconcile aggrieved members and weld the party.

The APC the governorship election and legislative seats in the state during the general elections in February and March, tis year, to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). The loss was largely attributed to internal wrangling within the party.

The reconciliation meeting, held at Lelewal Hotel, brought together aggrieved members of the party who agreed to bury the hatchet.

Boss Mustapha
Boss Mustapha

While speaking, the chairman of the 39-member Central Steering Committee to oversee affairs of the party in the state, former Interior Minister Abdulrahman Adamu, promised to reposition the party for future electoral victory.

According to him, “The steering committee is charged with the responsibility of reconciling all aggrieved aspirants/candidates that vied for positions during the 2019 general election.

“The committee is also charged with the task of developing a programme of action to strengthen the APC in Adamawa, as well as propose modalities that ensure free and fair primaries ahead of the coming local government election and future elections in the state.”

Terms of reference of the committee include:  propose ways and means of raising funds to run the affairs of the party in Adamawa State.

Nuhu Ribadu
Nuhu Ribadu

Other mandates are: “To develop an effective media and public enlightenment programme for repositioning the party to its winning ways in the state.

“To co-ordinate and support the various election petitions by the party at various tribunals and courts.

“To carry out any other functions as may be directed by the National Work Committee of the APC.”

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, and the minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Mohammed Bello, are co-chairmen of the committee.

Other members of the committee include immediate past governor of the state, Sen. Mohammed Jibrilla Bindow; a former EFCC chairman, Nuhu Ribadu; Dahiru Bobbo; Jonathan Zwingina; Halilu Ahmed (Modi); Ahmed Barata, among many others.

The committee is expected to work with the state executive committee of the party in its bid to turn around the fortunes of the state’s chapter of the party.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :