Buhari Names Osinbajo Chair of Health Sector Reform Committee

President Muhammadu Buhari has set up a Health Sector Reform Committee to develop and implement a Health Sector Reform programme for Nigeria in collaboration with the State Governments and the FCT administration.

According to a release issued by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Mallam Garba Shehu, “This is sequel to a Health Sector Diagnostic Review Report developed by a consultant, Vesta Healthcare Partners, and the Federal Ministry of Health.”

The committee, Shehu continued, “will undertake a review of all healthcare reforms adopted in the past two decades and lessons learnt and factor them into the development of the new Health Sector Reform Programme.”

The committee, which has six months to complete its work, has Vice President Yemi Osinbajo as chairman, while members are drawn from private and public sector health care management professionals, development partners, representatives of the National Assembly, as well as the Nigeria Governors Forum, NGF, among others.

Other members are of the committee include: Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, Governor of Delta State ; Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Minister of Health; Mr. Alex Okoh, Director General BPE; Prof Ibrahim Abubakar, a Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology at University College London and Director of the UCL Institute for Global Health; Mr Babatunde Irukera, Director General, Federal Competition and Consumer  Protection Council; Senator( Dr)  Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe;  Dr. Adedamola Dada;  Dr. Sani Aliyu;  Dr. Mairo Mandara; Dr. Haliru Yahaya, Emir of Shonga;  Professor Uche Amazigbo ; Director, Hospital Services, Federal Ministry of Health; Dr Faisal Shuaib; Prof Nasiru Sambo; Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa and Dr Gambo Aliyu.

Others of the committee are: Dr Betta Edu (Chairman, Nigeria Health Commissioners Forum representing National Council on Health); President, Nigeria Medical Association;  President, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria; President, National Association of Nigeria Nurses & Midwives;  Presiden, Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria ; Mrs Temi Marcella Awogboro ; Dr. Muhammad Sadiq;  Dr. Azubike Tagbo, and  the World Health Organization, Nigeria.

Vesta Healthcare Partners and Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation are to serve as resource persons and have observer roles in the committee.

Meanwhile, President Buhari has also approved the appointment of Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa as the new Director General of Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC). He is also a member of the committee.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :