Inside Nigeria

Governor Sanwo-Olu Leads in 18 Out of 19 Council Areas Announced By INEC

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the governor of Lagos, is leading in the state’s gubernatorial election conducted on Saturday

Sanwo-Olu contested against Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party who is at present second in the race and Abdul-Azeez Adediran of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who is third at the moment.

The incumbent governor has won in all the 18 LGAs out of the 19 announced so far by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Sanwo-Olu won in Ikeja, the LGA of the LP governorship candidate. He polled 32,273 votes to defeat Rhodes-Vivour who had 15,174 votes.

In his own LGA — Lagos Island — Sanwo-Olu won by a healthy margin.

The Lagos governor also won in Surulere LGA, the base of Babatunde Fashola,  the minister of works and housing, and Femi Gbajabiamila, the House of Representatives Speaker.

In Ojo, the LGA of the PDP candidate, Sanwo-Olu also posted a convincing victory. He secured 30,797 votes while the PDP candidate had 3,889 and Rhodes-Vivour polled 19,027.

The Lagos governor however lost to the LP candidate in Amuwo-Odofin LGA.

So far, the results from 19 of the 20 LGAs in the state have been announced.

The result of Eti-Osa — where an election is rounding up — is the only outstanding.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :