2023: It’s Tinubu Versus Atiku as Ex-Lagos Gov Wins Landslide Victory in APC Primary

The battle line for the race to the seat of power, Aso Rock, Abuja was finally drawn Wednesday as the former governor of Lagos State and national leader of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu clinched the party’s ticket in a landslide victory over his rivals.

Tinubu’s victory at the APC primary has now pitted him against his former ally, Atiku Abubakar, who had early won the Presidential ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, at the Velodrome of the Moshood Abiola Stadium, Abuja, on Saturday, May 28, 2022.

The former Governor of Lagos State polled a total of 1,271 votes to defeat closest rival and immediate past Minister of Transportation, Hon. Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi who polled 315 votes.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo scored 235 votes while Senate President Ahmed Lawan got 152, and Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State 47 votes respectively.

While Ebonyi State Governor Dave Umahi scored 38 votes, the immediate past Minister of Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, and Minister of State, Education, Mr. Chukwuemeka Uwajuiba, who was absent at the special convention, polled one each.

Again, just as Senator Ahmed Rufai Sani, former Governor of Zamfara State, got four votes, ex-Imo State Governor, Owelle Rochas Okorocha, Dr. Tunde Bakare, and international businessman, Mr. Jack Rich scored zero each.

Earlier, seven presidential aspirants had stepped down for Tinubu.

The aspirants who pitched their tents with Tinubu at the convention ground include Governors Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, and Alhaji Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa.

Others include: former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Chief Godswill Akpabio, former Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, Senator Ajayi Borroffice, ex-Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Dimeji Bankole, and Mrs. Uju Ohanenye


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :