Bayelsa: How David Lyon of APC Defeated Dicksons’s Man, Douye Diri

Mike Ojoobanikan

Returning Officer, Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in the Bayelsa election and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin, Professor Faraday Orunmuwese, around 1:03am on Monday, declared David’s Lyon of the All Progressives Congress, APC, winner of the polls held on Saturday.

Lyon scored 352,552, while  the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP’s candidate, Duoye Diri, got 143,172 votes.

The most dramatic of APC’s  performance was in Southern Ijaw Local Government where the party scored 124,803 votes against the PDP’s 4,898. That local government was the deciding factor!

In former President Goodluck Jonathan’s Ogbia local government, APC’s Lyon trounced Diri. While Lyon secured 58,016 votes, Diri got 13,763. 

Moreover in Nembe, where the former Governor of the State and Minister of State of Petroleum, Timipre Sylva, comes from, Lyon won, polling 83,041, as against Diri’s paltry votes of 874.

However, Governor Seriake Dickson’s Sagbama Local Government Area, reversed this victory trend for APC. There, PDP polled 60,339, while the APC got  7,831 votes. Accord Party scored 131. 

In Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA, APC polled 8,934 to lose to the PDP, which scored 15,360.

APC regained its strength in Brass LG, with a total vote of 23,831, while PDP got  10,410 votes.

In Ekeremor Local Government, APC polled 21,489 votes to defeat PDP’s Diri, who scored 18,344 votes.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :